WCCC Bestows Awards and Scholarships at Annual Banquet

June 14, 2018

The highly-performing students of Washington County Community College (WCCC) were recognized at the institution’s annual academic awards banquet on Thursday, May 17th. During the presentation, which included a substantial buffet prepared by the college’s dining staff, the outstanding students in each department were recognized, honor cords were presented, and several scholarships were distributed.

WCCC President Joseph Cassidy opened the presentation by noting that while the student body was slightly smaller than usual this year the faculty consensus was clear. “We’ve had a really wonderful group of students this year.”

The students of the Student Senate, who President Cassidy said were frequently engaged in raising money for charitable causes and who “really work a great deal to make the campus a better place” each received a distinguishing collar to wear during the graduation ceremonies for their service. This year’s Student Senate consisted of Daynah Brown, Skye Green, Sean Hill, Kaitlin Barrett, Bryan Mitchell, Tara Carter, Sheena Shain, Kyle Keenan, Michael O’Brien, Skyler Cole, Sarah Merrill, Sarah Cooke, and Christina Eales. The Resident Assistants in the dorms – Kari Galdeen, Andy Gilbert, Ross Norton, Jamison Bernoudy, and Celina Cummings – were similarly commended for their ability to bridge student concerns with school administration.

Every student graduating with a GPA of 3.5 or higher received either a silver or gold honor cord for their commitment to academic success. As the sole graduating veteran, Kimberly Dominguez Miller received a red, white, and blue honor cord.

The top students in each department were presented with a President’s Award for Excellence. The awards were as follows: Spencer McCormick, Adventure Recreation and Tourism; Caleb Sanborn, Automotive Technology; Jonathan Fox, Business Management; Sarah Cooke, Business Management – International Commerce; Taran Matthews, Computer Technology, Spencer Johnson, Criminal Justice; Robyn Stuart, Early Childhood Education; Donna Blankley, Education; Ross Norton and Jamison Bernoudy, Engine Specialist; Keith Crockett-Harrington, Heavy Equipment Maintenance; Edwin Gardner, Heavy Equipment Operation; Ambrosia Ross, Liberal Studies; Celina Cummings, Medical Assisting; Cindy Rier, Medical Office Technology; Mitchell Paul, Plumbing and Heating Technology; Taylor Carle, Phlebotomy; Clinton Dakin, Powersport Equipment/Small Engine Technician; Colin Shank, Residential and Commercial Electricity; Emily Mailloux, Welding. Other students received Outstanding Achievement and Instructor’s Choice for Academic Growth awards for their performance throughout the year.

Given special recognition for their achievements were All-Maine Academic students Kaitlin Barrett, Jamison Bernoudy, Kari Goldeen, and Ross Norton – comprising four of the students selected for the honor out of 16,000 in the Maine Community College System, WCCC Student of the Year Tammy Cox, and George Mitchell Peace Scholar Kari Galdeen, who will be studying in Ireland next year. Only two students in the Maine Community College System are chosen as George Mitchell Peace Scholars and President Cassidy expressed his pleasure that Galdeen is the first student from WCCC to have been named as such.

At total amount of $20,530 was presented to students as scholarships for their continuing academic careers, including Jeremy Tilley, who received a full scholarship for next year’s tuition at WCCC. Among the scholarships awarded were eight from the TRiO department, each of which consisted of $725.